Fic rec: What Will You Bid For Love? by Leola May on FWAR

WWYFL

What Will You Bid For Love? by Leola May

Summary: Somewhere along the way the future got f***ed. Women are possessions, men are vile and the Volturi rule the world. But one family hides in the shadows behind a fence trying to reclaim the basic decency of humanity. This is a love story that starts in an auction house.

AU/AH – Canon couples

I have to admit, I went a little out of my comfort zone with this fic. I am not normally seeking out kink or fetish fics, even though I’ve read some that I really liked. I guess most fics I get rec’ed are the same as what I write: drama, fluff, lemons and a dash of angst. I don’t mind angst or kick at all, it’s just that I don’t run into it all that often. I was on FWAR (for people who don’t know it: Free Writers And Readers) talking about how we could get the readers to review more, when I felt like reading something new and fresh. I found this story in the AH/AU list.

With the start of the story, I got an eerie science fiction feeling, like you’ve ended up in some insane world but everybody around you acts like it’s completely normal. Before the story starts, the writer warns for the kink and fetish and also mentions that the story isn’t beta’d. I found very little mistakes, just typo’s that everyone makes.

As said in the summary, the world is completely screwed up in this story. Men have the upper hand, women are mere possessions they can buy and use as they see fit. Some things that are happening are truly painful and sad, and it adds to the story. I love that things are canon – I’m a sap like that – so I was happy to see Alice x Jasper, Rose x Emmett and Carlisle x Esme.

Without giving away too much, I can say this story has completely captivated my attention and sucked me in from the beginning. It’s worth the read for sure, and don’t forget to leave a review. That conversation about reviews was what got me to this story in the first place ;)

4 Comments on “Fic rec: What Will You Bid For Love? by Leola May on FWAR”

  1. keyecullen says:

    It just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside when I see a FWAR member support another FWAR member in their creative endeavors!

  2. Leola Mae says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words of recommendation! I’m flattered. Thank you!
    PS
    I have other stories you might like too. ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers